The result was never in doubt for the ladder leaders, who within the first four minutes gained the advantage and never looked back.

Jesse Pinto put Hellenic in control. The captain was released right in front if the goal mouth with room to move and with a cool finish he slotted it home, hitting the inside if the right post in the process.

The blue and white’s doubled their advantage through a Geoffry Lino strike. Casuarina tried to clear the ball from inside the box, it deflected off Hellenic, falling the way of the striker who brought the ball down and whipped his right foot around it to shatter the back of the net.

Casuarina’s chances were few and far between in the first stanza. One came from a corner that was cleared off the line, the other a long range strike from Mark Casimiro. It sailed just over the cross bar.

What took the game away from the Rowdies was a goal either side of the interval.

Just before the break a penalty was awarded after an Akim Lay challenge on Paddy Mcguire inside the box went wrong. Sulav Maskey sent the ‘keeper the wrong way to make it 3-0 at half-time.

Only 90 seconds after the team’s returned, Hellenic had their fourth. The competition leaders kept possession in the box, the final pass coming from Lino. It hit Maskey with room to work with and he slotted his shot neatly into the top corner.

Lino made it five when his combination with Maskey once again was on show. This time it was Maskey who passed it straight to Lino’s feet inside the box who once again finished with quality along the carpet.

Casuarina hit their only goal in transition. Matthew McRoberts found the ball and when Hellenic keepr Nicholas Boubaris came off his line, McRoberts neatly chipped over the top of him and the ball found its way over the line.

Match Facts

Hellenic 5 (Pinto 4', Lino 31' 64', Maskey 45+2' 47')

Casuarina 1 (McRoberts 68')

Hellenic: 21. Nicholas Boubaris, 5. Vijay Dias (16. Noah Borges-Nunes 50'), 6. Shaun Hodor, 7. Paddy Mcguire (11. John Dorahn 55'), 8. Geoffry Lino (3. Anthony Dilembo 70'), 9. Helio Carvalho, 10. J. Pinto, 12. Mario Cameirao (2. Ross Billias 75'), 13. Junar Gama, 14. Alan Carroll, 15. Sulav Maskey

Casuarina: 42. Georgios Skartados, 2. Ryan Newell (4. Brayden Mclennan 67'), 3. Horacio Ingles, 6. Reza Passmore, 7. Mark Casimiro (Alvin Dingle 81'), 9. Alexander Murrell, 10. Akim Lay, 12. Scott Piper, 13. Bailey Uptin, 14. Edson Dos Reis (16. Oscar Ferdinands 76'), 15. Luis Rodrigues (8. Jacob Leonard62')

Follow the Match Action on Twitter and Facebook

#2017DMPL #FootballNT #FFNT #CFCvHAC

Next Week's Fixtures

  • Port Darwin v Darwin Olympic, Friday 19 May, 8:00 PM
  • Casuarina FC Vs Mindil Aces, Saturday 20 May at 4:00 PM
  • Hellenic Athletic Vs Darwin Rovers, Saturday 20 May at 8:00 PM